top of page

Am I ready to become a mom? Have I done everything that I have wanted to do? Have I become the perso


I was 23 years old when I became a mom in December of 2000. I was not ready and I knew that. However, I loved this little guy more than anything. I was the most terrified that I have ever been. From the contractions, (by the way, I had no idea what they were supposed to feel like), to the labor, when I heard the woman in the next room screaming bloody murder, to the emergency c-section that needed to be performed, IMMEDIATELY!

Once I saw my son, the uncertainties that I had experienced, slowly faded. Then, there were a different set of uncertainties. Am I going to be a good mom? Am I feeding him enough? Is he loved enough? Did I remember to pack diapers? And, of course, am I financially ready to have a baby? The simple answer is, "No. Most people are not and never will be financially ready to have a baby." Children are not a necessity. However, they are not an accessory either. Whether they are planned or not, not many sit and ponder, whether they really need to spend the money on a child, like they do for a scarf or a pair of shoes.

I was not financially ready to have a child. I had "taken time off" of college and of course never returned. I did eventually want to return. Once you have a child, it gets harder to do anything strictly for yourself, especially if you don't have a great support system at home.

I never married my first sons father, even though he asked many times. One of the best decisions ever! He was overjoyed at the idea of being a father but didnt want to own the title.

Am I ready to become a mom? Have I done everything that I have wanted to do? Have I become the perso


I was 23 years old when I became a mom in December of 2000. I was not ready and I knew that. However, I loved this little guy more than anything. I was the most terrified that I have ever been. From the contractions, (by the way, I had no idea what they were supposed to feel like), to the labor, when I heard the woman in the next room screaming bloody murder, to the emergency c-section that needed to be performed, IMMEDIATELY!

Once I saw my son, the uncertainties that I had experienced, slowly faded. Then, there were a different set of uncertainties. Am I going to be a good mom? Am I feeding him enough? Is he loved enough? Did I remember to pack diapers? And, of course, am I financially ready to have a baby? The simple answer is, "No. Most people are not and never will be financially ready to have a baby." Children are not a necessity. However, they are not an accessory either. Whether they are planned or not, not many sit and ponder, whether they really need to spend the money on a child, like they do for a scarf or a pair of shoes.

I was not financially ready to have a child. I had "taken time off" of college and of course never returned. I did eventually want to return. Once you have a child, it gets harder to do anything strictly for yourself, especially if you don't have a great support system at home.

I never married my first sons father, even though he asked many times. One of the best decisions ever! He was overjoyed at the idea of being a father but didnt want to own the title.

bottom of page