top of page

Out with the old, in with the new.

Five years later, I found myself to be everything that I never wanted to be. I knew that only I could change this. I was in an emotionally abusive relationship with my son’s father and never realized it until then. I had just about lost all of my family because nobody wanted to be around him. He was a miserable man and was dragging us down with him. I thought for a long time and knew that I needed to gain the courage to leave. Not only for myself but for my son. I didn’t want him to experience all of the negativity that was in our household.

I tried to shield my son from this as much as possible. It was a rough time for us both. Much changed occurred that year. I don’t think he even realizes the magnitude of the emotions that I felt about what was going on around us. But I knew that eventually, we would be safe and happy. To any woman that has ever been in an abusive relationship and hears, “just leave”, remember, it’s not that easy. Manipulation is a powerful thing. Once you gain the courage, you can do it. Mom’s courage and determination for the safety of your children is a great motivator.

Out with the old, in with the new.

Five years later, I found myself to be everything that I never wanted to be. I knew that only I could change this. I was in an emotionally abusive relationship with my son’s father and never realized it until then. I had just about lost all of my family because nobody wanted to be around him. He was a miserable man and was dragging us down with him. I thought for a long time and knew that I needed to gain the courage to leave. Not only for myself but for my son. I didn’t want him to experience all of the negativity that was in our household.

I tried to shield my son from this as much as possible. It was a rough time for us both. Much changed occurred that year. I don’t think he even realizes the magnitude of the emotions that I felt about what was going on around us. But I knew that eventually, we would be safe and happy. To any woman that has ever been in an abusive relationship and hears, “just leave”, remember, it’s not that easy. Manipulation is a powerful thing. Once you gain the courage, you can do it. Mom’s courage and determination for the safety of your children is a great motivator.

bottom of page